Conquering Credit Card Debt

People ask me why on earth I’d want to work seven days a week.  And here’s what I tell them: “I had so much fun running up 10 thousand dollars in debt, (in addition to whatever school expenses are on there) that I’m going to have to work really hard just to get things back in order.  Theres hundreds of websites out there explaining how to cut costs, and live on a tight budget.  I’m already on a tight budget now.  I’m just starting out, hardly making any money.   I’ve been in my new apartment 3 months, I slept on the floor for one month, on a mattress a few inches off the ground for another. I finally could afford a bed, and I’ve only been sleeping on it for a few days now.

The plan ultimately is to pay back credit cards.  If I really crunch, and squeeze, according to the CNN Money debt reduction planner I could be done paying off my debt, and student loans (17K) in a little over 5 years.  Boy that would be amazing.  I’m not sure that I’m quite committed to that yet:  I still want my desk, and I’m going to a wedding, going Christmas shopping, and flying home for Christmas.  Cant forget about my Halloween Costume.  And I’m sorry, but I would like to have a second Wii controller, and a few other games including Guitar Hero (since I cant play my real guitar). The question is, will I ever be satisfied?  I mean, I just listed all of these things– I didn’t even mention the Blackberry I’ve been wanting for a long time.  Will the satisfaction ever come?  Will I ever be able to say, I’m good now, I can focus on paying back the money for clothes/gas/shoes/electronics/books I dont even have anymore?  I’m not so sure.

The other deep seated issue that comes with racking up credit card debt is impatience.  My inability to wait to purchase something, or in other words, I just dont know how to save.  As a kid, I was always the broke one.  My younger sister hoarded away her cash, and my younger brother always managed to make tons of it, and not spend too much.  Me on the otherhand had this intrinsic desire to have things.   I cant think of ever saving up for anything.  I feel like I characterize the nature of American society:  the need to have more and more,  and the patience to wait less and less- thus spending and spending money we dont have.  And these things that I want aren’t wildly expensive either,  I would just have to wait for them, and sacrifce not satisfying my other “immediate needs.”

So what am I going to do?  I dont know, try saving?  I’m already having enough trouble keeping my fingers out of Bank of America’s Keep the Change program.  So I guess you’re going to have to stay tuned to see what my therapist says.

Leave a Reply

